Food · Recipes · Uncategorized

Buttery Butternut Squash Stuff by Antonia Mosqueda (IranianHiker)

Buttery Butternut Squash Stuff by Antonia Mosqueda
You might be thinking, how did she come up this stuff? Well…it all started when my husband brought home this big, odd shaped, thingy ( a butternut squash) and I had no idea what to do with it! It was my first time even seeing one, I was clueless. He said ( in his beautiful Persian accent), here in Iran we use it often, but he just did not know how exactly. Wth? I wanted a pumpkin though, this was his idea of a pumpkin in Farsi  I guess? I can’t knock the man I love for trying.  Okay, so I had to make do with what we had. When we proceeded to dissect it, the butternut squash resembled and looked so much like pumpkin. I was surprised at how much the innards n’ all were really like the gourd of a pumpkin. I immediately thought to make a dish similar to the way my momma taught me to make pumpkin pie. Therefore, I came up with this mouth watering and delicious butternut buttery squash stuff that taste okey dokey without a crust. Since then I have experimented and have now come up with a few ways to use the butternut squash in soups and stews especially. Last thing to add before I get into the recipe is, I slow cooked the butternut squash for several hours from morning till night, be prepared for that; just thought to warn you.

Butternut-Squash-Composite.jpg
See what I mean by odd shaped? This is not my photo btw this one is from http://www.culicurious.com

 

 

Ingredients
About two cups of butternut squash chunks (cut into the size of ice cubes or so)
2-3 cups of water
1 tsp of cinnamon
¼ cup of sugar (brown or white)
2-3 tablespoons of butter
1 tsp of sesame seeds

Methods
So we took this huge butternut squash and peeled it, then we sliced it symmetrically, down the middle and continued to cut it into ice cube sized chunks. We filled about four zip lock bags with cubes of the butternut guts. We saved the seeds for drying and roasting. We threw out that stringy stuff. From there I began to slow cook the squash in 2 cups of water (Use a slow cooker, or cook on low) add water if it becomes too dry, you do not want it soupy however. After several hours of low slow cooking the squash should become soft enough to mash a little. I boil it for five minutes to get some of the wetness out because we want a creamy texture eventually. I add the butter and sugar and return the heat to a low heat. Mix the ingredients well and add half of the cinnamon, turn off the butternut stuff and put in a dish, Sprinkle the rest of the cinnamon and the sesame seeds on top. Enjoy!

IMG_7462.jpg
Butternut Squash Stuff was perfect for a Dessert after having Abgusht (Iranian/Persian Stew)

Tip: Make it healthier and vegan by using I can’t believe it’s not butter or something like that 

3 thoughts on “Buttery Butternut Squash Stuff by Antonia Mosqueda (IranianHiker)

Leave a Reply

